Conwy office lead reappointed to Design Commission for Wales board

Design Commission of Wales has announced reappointments to the board for 2019

The Design Commission for Wales has announced that it will be reappointing Conwy’s office lead Elinor Gray-Williams to serve a further four years on the board. The Commission was established in 2002, and consists of planners, urban designers and architects, amongst others, to ‘champion good design for the built environment’ through supporting local authorities, developers and clients. Elinor will sit on the board alongside reappointed chair Gayna Jones.

Elinor, who recently served on the RSAW Awards judging panel, worked on the award-winning Copper Kingdom visitor centre to completion in 2014, which was described as the year’s  ‘most exciting and innovative architectural project undertaken in Wales’. Elinor joined Donald Insall Associates in 2007, helping to establish our Conwy office, and has since led on high-profile projects such as the Antur Stiniog Mountain Biking Centre, winner of the LABC Regional Best Community Building Award 2014.

Julie Jones, Minister for Housing and Local Government, described the Commission’s reappointed board as having a ‘key role in helping implement our national planning policies around placemaking, and a well organised and skilled board is crucial in helping the organisation reach its potential.’